Tinder

I had never tried a social media “dating” service before creating a Tinder account and I did not really know what to expect. After I downloaded the app, I went in to create a profile. The app is well designed, which made the sign-up process painless. I uploaded a few pictures of myself and had to write a bio about myself. I had to ask myself if I wanted to be that “sarcastic-bio guy who thinks he’s too cool for it” or that “Let me pour my soul out in under 140 characters” kind of guy. After a few seconds, I decided to go with a standard “about me” including my career aspirations and what I’m into these days.

Great, now I am ready to go out into the Tinder-verse and see what all the fuss is about. I set out to find a suitable mate with a single press of a button and a barrage of duck-faces attack my screen. I swipe left (which translates to “No way”) until I find someone attractive. I swipe right (which translates to “Mmmmhmmmm”) and wait. Nothing. My self-esteem takes a hit but I press on. I keep swiping hordes of indistinguishable faces for the next few days until I finally hear that heart-stopping alert. “You have a match.” I check to see who it is. I don’t exactly remember her, but I don’t really care at this point. When it comes to Tinder messaging etiquette, I am like a grandparent on Facebook. I send a simple “Hey, what’s up?” to her, hoping for a quick response. I check back five minutes later and I had been unmatched. My self-esteem takes another blow, but I’ll be damned if I let this bring me down.

After a few weeks, I had acquired a handful of matches and had messaged the majority of them. I had a few responses but nothing came from them. I am sick and tired of the constant disappointment at this point and just want to find someone who isn’t a cam-girl spam account. I can’t help but feel like I’m doing something wrong. Should I always message first with something witty? I would but that sounds exhausting.

At this point, I still have yet to meet someone through Tinder. To be honest, I have not really made a huge effort in a few weeks but this app just isn’t worth the energy. But why do I still actively use it every day? I keep asking myself that every time I open the app but something about it is exciting and addictive. A part of the fun is counting the amount of single mothers and Jesus freaks there are. I stopped taking this seriously pretty quickly after creating my profile but I still enjoying using it to pass the time. Who knows, maybe I’ll actually find someone willing to meet up with me, but in the mean time, I’ll be staring at a blank message page waiting for her to message first.

Leave a Reply

